how many caste are there in nepal

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

In Nepal, the caste system is a centuries-old social hierarchy that divides the population into four distinct castes: Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra. However, the caste system has been made legally prohibited in the country. According to the 2011 Nepal census, there are 125 caste/ethnic groups in the country. Some of the major caste groups include:

  • Chhetri (16.60%)
  • Brahmin (12.18%)
  • Magar (7.12%)
  • Tharu (6.56%)
  • Tamang/Moormi (5.81%)
  • Newar (4.99%)
  • Kami (4.75%)
  • Muslims (5.09%)

Despite the legal prohibition, the caste system still has a significant impact on Nepali society, affecting issues such as marriage, inheritance, and access to resources and opportunities.

Was this answer helpful?
Upvote 1