how many languages are spoken in nepal

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

Answer: According to the 2011 national census of Nepal, there are 123 languages spoken as a mother tongue (first language) in the country. Most of these languages belong to the Indo-Aryan and Sino-Tibetan language families. The official working language at the federal level is Nepali, but each province is allowed to choose one or more additional official working languages. Some of the official languages include Maithili, Bhojpuri, Tharu, Tamang, and Newari. Nepali is the primary official language and is spoken by nearly 45% of the population.

Was this answer helpful?