How Many Local Levels Are There In Nepal

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

According to the Constitution of Nepal 2015, there are 753 local levels in Nepal. These local levels are further categorized into six metropolises, 11 sub-metropolises, 276 municipalities, and 460 Gaunpalikas (rural municipalities). The local levels are the third level of government division in Nepal, beneath the federal and provincial governments. They have their own executive body and are responsible for providing basic services and infrastructure to the local population. The current structure of local governance was established by the Constitution of Nepal in 2015 and the Local Government Operation Act of 2017.

Was this answer helpful?