How Many States Are There In Nepal

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

Nepal is a federal democratic republic that has been divided into 7 provinces, 77 districts, and 753 local levels since May 28, 2008. The seven provinces are named as follows:

  1. Koshi Province
  2. Madhesh Province
  3. Bagmati Province
  4. Gandaki Province
  5. Lumbini Province
  6. Karnali Province
  7. Sudurpashchim Province

Each province has its separate government, in addition to the federal government at the center. This federal structure was established to address regional inequality and reduce economic, social, and religious discrimination. The implementation of federalism in Nepal has been a significant and transformative change in the country’s governance framework, aimed at promoting inclusive development and governance.

Was this answer helpful?