What Is The Capital City Of Lumbini Province

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

The capital city of Lumbini Province has changed in recent years. In 2020, the province was renamed from Province No. 5 to Lumbini Province, and Deukhuri was declared as the capital city. However, in December 2022, the Chief Minister’s Office of Lumbini Province was shifted to Bhalubang, which was declared the permanent capital of the province in 2020.

Lumbini Province is located in western Nepal and is the country’s third-largest province in terms of area and population. The province is named after the holy pilgrimage site of Lumbini in Rupandehi district, the birthplace of Gautama Buddha, the founder of Buddhism. The province borders Gandaki Province and Karnali Province to the north, Sudurpashchim Province to the west, and Uttar Pradesh and Bihar of India to the south.

Was this answer helpful?