What is the capital city of Nepal

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

The capital city of Nepal is Kathmandu, which is also the largest city in the country. Located in the Kathmandu Valley, the city has a population of over 800,000 people and is the cultural, historical, and economic center of Nepal. Kathmandu is surrounded by four major mountains: Shivapuri, Phulchoki, Nagarjun, and Chandragiri. The city is home to a multi-ethnic population with a Hindu and Buddhist majority, and it is the seat of government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.

Kathmandu’s history dates back to ancient Archaeological explorations have indicated that the town was traced to the period between 167 BC with the oldest finding being the statue in Maligaon that dates back to 185 AD. The city was founded in the year 723 by Raja Gunakamadeva and has been for many years the center of Nepal’s history, art, culture, and economy.

Some of the notable places to visit in Kathmandu include:

  • Swoyambhu
  • Patan and Kathmandu Durbar Square
  • Pashupatinath Temple
  • Bhaktapur
  • Boudhanath

Kathmandu is not only the capital of Nepal but also a gateway to the Nepalese Himalayan mountains. The city’s sister cities, Lalitpur Patan, and Bhaktapur are integral to Kathmandu’s cultural tourism industry and economy, and UNESCO’s World Heritage Site lists all three cities’ monuments and attractions together as the “Kathmandu Valley-UNESCO World Heritage Site”.

Was this answer helpful?
Upvote 1