What Is The Grading System For Grade 1 To 12 In Nepal

Verified Icon
Verified by Udeshya

In Nepal, the grading system for grades 1 to 12 is based on a scale that includes letter grades, performance descriptions, and grade point averages (GPA). The grading system was implemented by the Government of Nepal, and it is applied to students from grade 1 to grade 12. The grading scale is as follows:

  • A+ (Outstanding) – GPA 4.0
  • A (Excellent) – GPA 3.6
  • B+ (Very Good) – GPA 3.2
  • B (Good) – GPA 2.8
  • C+ (Satisfactory) – GPA 2.4
  • C (Acceptable) – GPA 2.0
  • D (Basic) – GPA 1.6
  • NG (Not Graded) – No GPA assigned

Students are required to achieve a minimum GPA of 2.0, which corresponds to a grade of C, to be considered as having passed. The grading system is designed to provide a comprehensive evaluation of student’s performance and is used to determine promotion to the next grade level.

This grading system is intended to improve student learning and provide a clear and standardized method for assessing and reporting student achievement. Students, parents, and educators need to understand the grading system and its implications for academic progress and advancement.

Was this answer helpful?
Upvote 1